Gospel vs Religion Again

I need to be honest on this. The gospel approach and seeing ALL scripture through the Gospel and the “solas” of scripture are a very important part of me. I really believe ONLY in a deep understanding of mans complete and total depravity and our absolute need for a savior can we start to get real with each other. In my time with God each morning I ask myself 2 questions: (1) Who/What do I love the most, and (2) what were my idols yesterday. I also do a self analysis of my emotional state. The reason I do this is that I realize that if my emotional state is not right reading scripture or reviewing mental scripture applications will do me no good at all. I don’t want to wrap my fears and insecurities around scripture… thereby giving me highly polarized security/insecurity modes of thinking. I want scripture to cause me to be both humble and confident simultaneously (neither swaggering nor snivelling) as I understand the Gospel in the entirety of its truth. I have come to realize that if my emotional bank account is not right I just dont see clearly…. that includes God and his word.

I also realize that if I am honest with myself that I can use this Gospel approach as its own idol. I can use it to look down my nose at both religious and irreligious people.

God please remove all idols from my life and help me find my identity deeply in Jesus Christ. Amen.

The Gospel is…
We are more sinful and weak than we ever dared to admit and…
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope.

Sola Scriptura
Sola Gratia
Sola Fide
Solus Christus
Soli Deo Gloria!

In scripture alone we find Salvation is by grace alone Through faith alone In Christ alone For the glory of God alone!

Leave a Reply

