Finding yourself in Christ

if you find yourself in Christ…

Your self-view is not based on a view of my or yourself as a moral achiever. In Christ I am simul iustus et peccator—simultaneously sinful and lost yet accepted in Christ. I am so bad he had to die for me and I am so loved he was glad to die for me. This leads me to deeper and deeper humility and confidence at the same time. Neither swaggering nor sniveling.

My identity and self-worth are centered on Jesus … the one who died for His enemies, who was excluded from the city for me. I am saved by sheer grace. So I can’t look down on those who believe or practice something different from me. Only by grace I am what I am. I’ve no inner need to win arguments.

No matter where we angle our thoughts (Love, wrath, works) our human nature will find idols. The Gospel message gives us a third way different from the religious pharisees and differnt from the irreligious. The Gospel says that both the religious works-morality-based pharisees and the irreligious are alike in their need for a savior.

This an excerpt from an article I wrote that is under one of the comments below. For the complete article keep reading the comments below.

One thought on “Finding yourself in Christ

  1. godsgirl19

    I agree with your post. God keeps showing me that I can’t do anything to earn His love, but He loves me anyway. Somehow it always surprises me when He shows me this again! Thanks for your comment last week (CapturedByGod.wordpress.com). God bless you!

Leave a Reply

