The aroma of the cookies — in Jesus Christ

As I reflect on some of the things I wrote and also reflect on my time on the Pastoral Search Committee I have just realized something. Two different churches, two sets of people, two pastors that believe exactly the same thing can give off completetely different aromas.

As we were on the search committee we actually had a phrase we used that one Pastor could describe how the cookies were made and the other one can describe the aroma of the cookies. We were looking for a Pastor who could do both and was excellent at describing the aroma of the cookies.

Our pastor, now in his position for 3 months has started a Thursday service. Since i was interested in how it was going I stopped in. It was the second Thursday service and it already had 60 adults. Wow! The sermon was on Ephesians (can’t remember the verse since I did not stay). But he asked the question what aroma do you want for our Church?

Two fairly popular Pastors are Tim Keller and John Piper. I find that these two people with the same reformed theology give off completely different aromas. I love Tim Keller… I have a tough time finishing a book of Pipers.

As I reflect on this idea I realize that two people, two churches, with exactly the same theology can give off completely different aromas. I think the only difference between the two aromas are the centrality of what you hold next to your heart.

So the question today is: What aroma do you want for you?

Do you want the aroma of legallism and performance based religion? or Do you want the aroma of Jesus and the cross which is grace, mercy, and love? This aroma is hard to find since all Churches and Pastors will discuss the Cross but don’t necessarily give off the aroma of the Gospel message.

Basically, those are the two extremes of aroma choices in the Christian walk.

One thought on “The aroma of the cookies — in Jesus Christ

  1. theoldadam

    I’ll take the cookies…err..I mean Jesus!

    I agree totally on Piper an Keller.

    Nice post, Jon!

    – Steve M.

Leave a Reply

