The Gospel according to John Piper

John Piper is right on in this sermon. John says NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER think of the Gospel as a way to get saved and think you can leave it behind and do something else to get strong.

The Gospel is…
We are more sinful and weak than we ever dared to admit and…
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope.

1 Thessalonians 5

1Now, brothers, about times and dates we do not need to write to you, 2for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night. 3While people are saying, “Peace and safety,” destruction will come on them suddenly, as labor pains on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape.

4But you, brothers, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief. 5You are all sons of the light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. 6So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. 7For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night. 8But since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet. 9For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. 10He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him. 11Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

3 thoughts on “The Gospel according to John Piper

  1. theoldadam

    Not too bad this time. Usually there are a lot of ‘shoulds’, ‘oughts’ and ‘musts’ in a Piper Sermon. This time I noticed just one ‘If you’.

    Plus he he held off on the flowery adjectives.

    Good job, John Piper!

    – Steve M.

  2. believingwifepvs31

    Jon,
    I was actually reading some of your post on the mike ratliff blogs or whatever. I agreed with most of what you were saying and some of what Wendy was saying. I am in my mid 20’s and have been married since I was 18 to my husband. We have two children together. I recently found that my husband had had two affairs recently in our marriage. Then a few days later when I was praying in my closet The Lord revealed to me that the “affairs” go deeper than I know and then what my husband knew. I went to him and told him this and then he confessed about yet two other affairs. My husband told me he was a “sex addict” although it is sin that my husband has to deny as we all do….he is yet addicted to it. I would also like to say that I do not understand that Mike’s blog. He was going along with some pretty hateful post. My God is a Loving God. Although I also do not agree with abortions and homosexuality I still give my love to these people while telling them about the GOOD NEWS OF THE GOSPEL and how no matter what our Lord loves us all and wants us to be set free from sin…and I am not a “user friendly christian.” My pastor would never treat someone like this, but would still be honest about what the Word of God says. Anyway, my wuestion for you is that you said your ex pastor had a support group going. I saw where you had given the ebsites but I was unable to pull any of them up..??? Does he have a email? My husband soooo needs a male mentor to help counsel him and we just were not feeling the sex addicts groups. Thanks and many blessings

Leave a Reply

