What fuels your sanctification? The Gospel of Jesus Christ does!

The Gospel of Jesus Christ is…
We are more sinful and weak than we ever dared to admit and… (part 1)
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope. (part 2)

Paul Vander Klay, Tim Keller, and Martin Luther have done very good jobs describing the unity of sanctification and justification although it may be hidden between the lines when they speak. Read Pauls BLOG below at this link —>; The unity of sanctification and Justification

This is also something I have given a LOT of thought to because of what I have seen around me in my life. What fuels your sanctification?

Sanctification comes through the cross and the idea of it is finished in my previous BLOG post. Justification and Sanctification are NOT two disjointed topics like many people make them out the be. My justification, the cross, and Jesus Christ continues to FUEL my sanctification. Praise God because I can not provide this fuel. The fuel for sanctification only belongs to Him!

John Piper says in THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO JOHN PIPER LINK says NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER …. NEVER think of the Gospel as a way to get saved and think you can leave it behind and do something else to get strong.   However, we do it all the time!!!!

Paul says on his BLOG

Luther states in the first of his 95 theses that all of life is repentance. My justification and my sanctification come from the same source, and that source is not my will………..

…… But this unity between the advancement of faith in the truth (of God’s love through the work of Jesus) and the recession of the lie (that it is up to me to save myself) is fundamental in working on justification and through it also sanctification in the same sermon, at the same time. The recognition that there is one gospel in many forms helps keep you from getting wooden with the 4 spiritual laws ….

Through an understanding of the depths of our sin (part 1, above) and co-equally an understanding of the depths of Gods love for us (part 2), we then start to struggle with our sin and in Gods strength through Jesus Christ we have hope.

I don’t think I can describe it as well as my friends Tim Keller and Paul Vander Klay so I wont even go there. However, the topic is now introduced.

2 thoughts on “What fuels your sanctification? The Gospel of Jesus Christ does!

Leave a Reply

