The Three Approaches

I plan to start BLOGGING an in-depth look at the parable of the Prodigal Son and I am entitling the series “The Prodigal God” after Tim Kellers book, because in the end this is a parable the clearly shows the Character of God as God looks at the depth of mans sin and the shows the heights of His love for us as the story looks at two completely different people — the elder brother and the younger brother.

God, it seems to me, has been calling me to clearly proclaim 3 approaches that people and Churches have in how they deal with life. I like to envision these as a 3 dimensional grid with an x,y,z axis or an elder brother, younger brother, Gospel (Or God) axis with the z or God/Gospel axis pointing up. I hope to show a picture of this grid eventually.

Approach 1 is the irreligious approach or younger brother method.  Its basically man doing his own thing but eventually recognizes the deep sin in his heart.

Approach 2 is the religious method or elder brother method. The parable shows this son being close to the Father, being obedient, but this son does not see the depth of the sin in his own heart; a sin that is very subtle but yet as damaging (and maybe more so) than the methods of the younger brother because it often justifies itself as being Gods methods or close to God when it really isn’t.

Approach 3 is the Gospel approach to life. This is the method I believe that points to God and shows the true character of God. It proclaims the Gospel message clearly and basically says that through the Cross:

We are more sinful and weak than we ever dared to admit and…
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope.

As my pastor might say. In a can of mixed nuts it eats “all the nuts” including the ones we don’t like in scripture to understand the depth of our sin so it might fully portray the heights of Gods love for us through the cross.

So this is the introduction that I am sure will take me about 6 months to complete: To see only the posts for this series:

Click Here

One thought on “The Three Approaches

  1. Signifier

    Sounds great, I look forward to reading. Over the last year I have been learning just how central the story of the prodigal is to the Gospel. I have a few friends who are Orthodox, this parable gets a lot more play in the Orthodox church than it does the places I have attended.

Leave a Reply

The Three Approaches

I plan to start BLOGGING an in-depth look at the parable of the Prodigal Son and I am entitling the series “The Prodigal God” after Tim Kellers book, because in the end this is a parable the clearly shows the Character of God as God looks at the depth of mans sin and the shows the heights of His love for us as the story looks at two completely different people — the elder brother and the younger brother.

God, it seems to me, has been calling me to clearly proclaim 3 approaches that people and Churches have in how they deal with life. I like to envision these as a 3 dimensional grid with an x,y,z axis or an elder brother, younger brother, Gospel (Or God) axis with the z or God/Gospel axis pointing up. I hope to show a picture of Continue reading

One thought on “The Three Approaches

  1. Signifier

    Sounds great, I look forward to reading. Over the last year I have been learning just how central the story of the prodigal is to the Gospel. I have a few friends who are Orthodox, this parable gets a lot more play in the Orthodox church than it does the places I have attended.

Leave a Reply

