Pride in our own humility

I have been discussing religious sin. Look at what Tim Keller says about humility in this article:

http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2008/december/20.51.html

Here is an excerpt from the article, Tim Keller says:

………… If we then notice “a humble turn of mind” in ourselves, we immediately become smug—but that is pride in our humility. If we catch ourselves doing that we will be particularly impressed with how nuanced and subtle we have become. Humility is so shy. If you begin talking about it, it leaves. To even ask the question, “Am I humble?” is to not be so. Examining your own heart, even for pride, often leads to being proud about your diligence and circumspection…….

…… Humility is a byproduct of belief in the gospel of Christ. In the gospel, we have a confidence not based in our performance but in the love of God in Christ (Rom. 3:22-24). This frees us from having to always be looking at ourselves. Our sin was so great, nothing less than the death of Jesus could save us. He had to die for us. But his love for us was so great, Jesus was glad to die for us.

Grace, Not Goodness

We are on slippery ground when we discuss humility, because religion and morality inhibit humility. It is common in the evangelical community to talk about one’s worldview—a set of basic beliefs and commitments that shape the way we live in every particular. Others prefer the term “narrative identity.” This is a set of answers to the questions, “Who am I? What is my life all about? What am I here for? What are the main barriers keeping me from fulfillment? How can I deal with those barriers?”

There are two basic narrative identities at work among professing Christians. The first is what I will call the moral-performance narrative identity. These are people who in their heart of hearts say, I obey; therefore I am accepted by God. The second is what I will call the grace narrative identity. This basic operating principle is, I am accepted by God through Christ; therefore I obey.

People living their lives on the basis of these two different principles may superficially look alike. They may sit right beside one another in the church pew, both striving to obey the law of God, to pray, to give money generously, to be good family members. But they are doing so out of radically different motives, in radically different spirits, resulting in radically different personal characters.

I REALLY like the word by-product here.  Because performance based Christians with attitudes of pharisees make obedience a product of the Christian walk.  Its not a product of the Christian walk, rather its something God does for us.  Therefore, its a by-product coming from God vis a vis Jesus Christ.  The source of my justification and my sanctification come from Jesus the perfector of my faith.  The difference, however, is huge between having a life narrative of mercy vs a life narrative of performance based Christianity.

I discussed these narratives in my previous post.

Leave a Reply

