The righteousness shown to us in baptism

If I did it all over again I would still baptise my children as babies (even though my current Church does not baptise babies).  I found an interesting word when reading about when John baptized Jesus. The word rigtheouss is one that has an interesting but often misunderstood usage in scripture.

Mat 3:13  Then Jesus came from Galilee to Jordan, to John, to be baptized by him.
Mat 3:14  But John restrained Him, saying, I have need to be baptized by You, and do You come to me?
Mat 3:15  And answering Jesus said to him, Allow it now, for it is becoming to us to fulfill all righteousness. Then he allowed Him.
Mat 3:16  And Jesus, when He had been baptized, went up immediately out of the water. And lo, the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and lighting upon Him.
Mat 3:17  And lo, a voice from Heaven, saying, This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.

It says Jesus wanted to allow himself to be baptised to fulfill all righteoussness.  All righteoussness comes through what God does in us.  Not by what I can do!

The righteoussness of God is being shown to us in baptism!!!!

6 thoughts on “The righteousness shown to us in baptism

  1. Sarah Robison

    I enjoyed this post. Recently, I’ve been struggling with the idea of baptism and when it should take place. I was raised in the Lutheran Church where infants are baptized, but the church I go to know almost looks done upon infant baptism. The Scripture you posted was very encouraging. Thanks!

  2. Sarah Robison

    I enjoyed this post. Recently, I’ve been struggling with the idea of baptism and when it should take place. I was raised in the Lutheran Church where infants are baptized, but the church I go to know almost looks done upon infant baptism. The Scripture you posted was very encouraging. Thanks!

  3. theoldadam

    “I know Steve (the old adam) will disagree with the word symbolic…”

    You know me well, Jon 😀

    “We use mans economy and not Gods economy.”

    Getting rid of the word “symbolic” goes a long way towards God’s economy.

  4. theoldadam

    “I know Steve (the old adam) will disagree with the word symbolic…”

    You know me well, Jon 😀

    “We use mans economy and not Gods economy.”

    Getting rid of the word “symbolic” goes a long way towards God’s economy.

Leave a Reply

