Our Strength Comes in Christ and One Sided Sinners

I am always a bit amazed at the ‘tone’ and ‘smell’ of Christian BLOGS  — even when they seem to have a strong foundation in the word.   After at least one bad experience making comments on one BLOG, I have learned to listen more and comment less.  Many of my comments I try to make try to take a deeper view of sin and a deeper view of repentance.  For example, scripture discusses the Holiness of God, and how man needs to work out his repentance of sin…. I agree with this. But it amazes me how in one breath we can discuss the Holiness of God and in another man can sin and look down on other sinners struggling … but sinning in different ways from us .  Man seems to be  one sided and one dimensional when it comes to our view of sin.  That is why this discussion is on strength. Lets look at the word strength from e-sword:

Concerning mans strength

Mar 12:30  And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment.

Mar 12:33  And to love him with all the heart, and with all the understanding, and with all the soul, and with all the strength, and to love his neighbour as himself, is more than all whole burnt offerings and sacrifices.

Pro 24:5  A wise man is strong; yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength.

Concerning Gods strength

2Co 12:9  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Psa 118:14  The LORD is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.

Isa 12:2  Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.

Isa 26:4  Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength:

Our strength needs to come from a relationship with God and a ‘trust’ and ‘right’ understanding and correct ‘interpretation’ of His word.  Scripture discusses man using strength inappropriately in both religious and irreligious ways.  Thats what many learned Christians and Church people do not see… the religious sin in the Church.   They are more than willing to point out worldly sin but pretty easy or even blind to religious sin.

Taking a deeper view of sin means you need to live by the words of Jesus when he said:

Mat 9:13  But go and learn what this is, I will have mercy and not sacrifice. For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.
Mat 9:14  Then the disciples of John came to Him saying, Why do we and the Pharisees fast often, but Your disciples do not fast?

This scripture points to a mercy narrative man needs to live by as he presents and applies Gods word.  Unfortunately, when Jesus said “Go and learn what this means” to the religious order of the day  it tells me that this is one of the most difficult things for a Christian to do.   Learning to have a mercy narrative in your life as you apply “The Word” is very difficult because legalism is our default mode as we use this technique to make ourselves look and feel better than some other group of people.

We need to lean on Jesus and the Cross as the author and perfector of our faith…. and not our own understanding.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ is…
We are more sinful and weak than we ever dared to admit and…
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope

The statement above reflects on mans total depravity as well as our worth to God. God does love us but Jesus came and took the blow for our sins.

In Christ,

One thought on “Our Strength Comes in Christ and One Sided Sinners

  1. Pingback: Learning to love legalists but not legalism! « Gospel Centric Thinking

Leave a Reply

