Pharasaism, scoffers, fools, idolatry, and BLOGS

I have often wondered why this centrality of the Gospel mode of operation (MO)  is not followed more cloesely on Christian  BLOGS.  I go to a few BLOGS that get a lot more traffic and posts than mine… although I am not really in this to maximize numbers of hits.   Paul, a friend of mine on another BLOG (http://leadingchurch.com/wordpress/) said its lonely preaching this stuff.  I was listening to a sermon of Tim Kellers and he said the most popular followed BLOGS are the ones where people look down on others and see themselves as culturual or religious elites.  To be honest with the sin and troubles I have struggled with I am not in this for anything like that at all.

I want to expose the idols in my life and then I hope others see in me the Gospel being played out. Let me say it now… I struggle with idols…. but I think I know what they are in me. I am not blind to them… or at least I do not think I am.

Well, I guess I am glad that I get only a couple of posters each month. When I have gotten posters they have been people that are hurting and looking for something real in their lives.  Christ and what he did for us on the cross… the Gospel… is God giving us something real, something that touches us and changes us to our core.  In the case where two people in a marriage can actualize the Gospel in their marriage…. marriages, people, and lives are transformed (Rom 12:1) because in view of Gods mercy for us on the Cross we begin to understand the depth of our sin and the depth of Gods love for us.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ is…
We are more sinful and weak than we ever dared to admit and…
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope

We will never hunger for Christs’ beauty until we have seen the filth of our own vain efforts to make ourselves beautiful.

4 thoughts on “Pharasaism, scoffers, fools, idolatry, and BLOGS

  1. theoldadam

    For the life of me, I don’t know why you don’t get more traffic here.

    I think you do an excellent job of putting the gospel and Jesus Christ in the center of it all.

    We preach this stuff week in and week out at our little congregation, and to be quite honest, we can barely keep the doors open.

    But, we just keep at it. What else are we going to do?

  2. centralityofthegospel Post author

    I hear ya Steve, Grace is only popular when a person can twist it to their advantage. Very people have a theology of the Corss to the core. I think we both understand that! Keep up the good work Steve.

  3. Paul VanderKlay

    Don’t worry about the traffic and don’t value your contribution based on the number of comments. If you want to see the value of a string of comments to go youtube. I don’t think most of us blog just for traffic. I don’t see any advertising on your site. You write because it does your heart good and the few people who read it and are encouraged by it are icing on the cake. pvk

  4. centralityofthegospel Post author

    Thanks Paul, I had just listened to a sermon of Tims where he mentioned blogging and as usual I BLOG my “gospel” thoughts.

Leave a Reply

