The application of the Gospel

As some of you know, I have a Luthersque interpretation of scripture. Luther maintained a Christ and Gospel-centered understanding of scripture. Luther knew the old testament was primarily a fore-shadowing and path laid out for Jesus Christ.  Jesus Christ himself said the old testament pointed to him.

Where I tend to deviate from some Lutherans, however, is I believe the Gospel has major implications in a persons life.  I call this the application layer of the Gospel…. where many Lutherans might say the Gospel is applied to us.  One one level I agree with that statement … but much of scripture discusses the application layer of the Gospel and the application layer of the New Coventant in Jesus Christ for Christs’ bride — the church.  I yearn to apply the freedom of the Gospel to my life in a God-pleasing way and much of my BLOG is related to the application of the Gospel!  Read a few of my BLOG topics and you will see what I mean.

Thats all for today.

5 thoughts on “The application of the Gospel

  1. theoldadam

    Jon,

    Don’t worry about pleasing God. It’s too late for that.

    But, because of Christ, He is already pleased with you before you even start the day!

    The reason that many of us Lutheran types aren’t too pleased with the application (from our end) is that it puts the emphasis on us once again.

    We trust that the H.S. will do His will in and through us…even when we sin!

    That is radical gospel application!!

    Thanks, Jon!

  2. centralityofthegospel Post author

    Its not a pleasing God thing. I understand that one. Its more, I believe, the proper understanding of the Gospel (that God has done everything for me) has implications and ramifications in my life! Thats what I am calling the application of the Gospel in the believer.

    Contrast this concept with a persons application that uses mans default mode of religion (or legalism) in their lives!

    The embracing of the Gospel has ramifications of man in our freedom and in the way we relate to other men ( we can put down our charade of righteoussness)… our only rigtheoussness comes through what Jesus did for us.

    IF we understand the Gospel deeply… once and for all we can maybe begin to understand what it means to be intimately naked and unashamed before God and not hide our nakedness before God like Adam and Eve!! And this is a great application for all people! What God did for us means I can lay it all down and QUIT PRETENDING!!

    It is actually quite a burden for men to NOT be naked before God!

  3. centralityofthegospel Post author

    Galatians5
    1It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

    2Mark my words! I, Paul, tell you that if you let yourselves be circumcised, Christ will be of no value to you at all. 3Again I declare to every man who lets himself be circumcised that he is obligated to obey the whole law. 4You who are trying to be justified by law have been alienated from Christ; you have fallen away from grace. 5But by faith we eagerly await through the Spirit the righteousness for which we hope. 6For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision has any value. The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.

    7You were running a good race. Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the truth? 8That kind of persuasion does not come from the one who calls you. 9″A little yeast works through the whole batch of dough.” 10I am confident in the Lord that you will take no other view. The one who is throwing you into confusion will pay the penalty, whoever he may be. 11Brothers, if I am still preaching circumcision, why am I still being persecuted? In that case the offense of the cross has been abolished. 12As for those agitators, I wish they would go the whole way and emasculate themselves!

    I believe the application part is also the standing firm and not being under a YOKE OF SLAVERY. It also mentions people who deviate from the Gospel application when it says “who cut in on you and kept you from running a good race”.

    Like Paul I wish the legalists would emasculate themselves because I grow weary of the desire to put me back on the religious, legalistic, performance based path of religiously futile thinking!!!! This mode of thinking is futile because it does not embrace the Gospel and does not lean on the ROCK, Jesus Christ.

  4. theoldadam

    Right!

    ‘religion’ (that which we do to justify ourselves) is that yoke of slavery.

    That’s why we (some Lutherans, anyway) keep the focus on, the emphasis on, the onus on Christ…and His Sacraments.

    Because the Old Adam just naturally is bent towards the religion project and ‘doing’.

Leave a Reply

