Fullness of Christ

Ephesians 4

Building up the body of Christ

Eph 4:13  until we all attain to the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a mature man, to the measure of the stature which belongs to the fullness of Christ.
Eph 4:14  As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming;
Eph 4:15  but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ,
Eph 4:16  from whom the whole body, being fitted and held together by what every joint supplies, according to the proper working of each individual part, causes the growth of the body for the building up of itself in love.

I have a much different slant to what it means to be tossed here and there by the trickery of man and every wind of doctrine.   I , admittedly, have listened to some key people who, I believe, have sound doctrine. Tim Keller is one of them! I absolutely agree with Tim Kellers heart in how he sees and pursues his ministry!

On the other side of religious spectrum, I also have read Greg Boyd.  I dont agree with Greg on some of his ideas but I also sense his heart and agree with him on his book “repenting of religion” and “myth of a Christian Nation”.   Reading Greg has made me re-think some of my old ideas and has caused me to be more reformed, more lutheresque, than I was before reading Greg Boyd  — probably not what he intended in writing the book but Greg really makes me think why I am the way I am in what I believe and why I think the way I do.

Greg and I have shared some e-mails and I consider him to be a fine man and great Church Pastor, centered on Jesus Christ and doing fine Kingdom work!  I have even listened to him preach and considered it an honor and a date  with my wife to go and listen to Greg.  Personally, if I was living in that neck of the woods I would have no issues making his Church my own after a time period of listening to him preach more.

Back to my point.  What does it mean to be tossed here and there by the trickery of man and every wind of doctrine.   Most people interpret this to mean that bad doctrine out there in this big bad world!  My interpretation is that mans default mode, if not centered on Christ will naturally gravitate toward bad doctrine and trickery and works based righteousness thinkology.   Honestly, neither Greg nor Tim fall in this category of that kind of doctrine although they are on opposite end of the religious spectrum!!!! Therefore the problem is not just  out there its in here too!!!!.   Its also in my own heart if I dont continue to assess and re-assess what it means to “act in line with the truth of the Gospel”.   I want to be a Paul and not a Peter who seems to get off-track so easily and is doing a LOT of kingdom work but is “not acting in line with the truth of Gospel”

There are a lot of people out there that may have good doctrine but are scheming with good doctrine for their own benefit or their own trickery.  Even good doctrine can be misapplied in their MO toward other social networks or people. Once again, consider why Peter, an apostle, was charged by Paul for “not acting in line with the truth of the Gospel”.

So I walk among those people that are not quite in line with the truth of the Gospel. They have good good hearts and I am  loving on them but also telling them my story and why it led me to a deep understanding of the Gospel of Jesus Christ!

I believe this is the path for a body to build itself up in love!

Leave a Reply

