Warriors of Love

The Greatest Commandment

34Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. 35One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question:

36“Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” 37Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[b] 38This is the first and greatest commandment. 39And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[c] 40All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

Also

(Gal 5:6) For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision has any value. The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.

I know I have had some discussions with friends about Gods love and how important it is…. however, at the same time I know man wants to quantifiy and measure Gods love by saying things about Gods justice and fearing God.  I understand what they are trying to say… but my fear is that we are putting limits on the limitless as we do this.  We are sometimes saying God I know loves me but I want to control your thinking and tell you about Gods sovereignty and justice so I can conform you in my own personal image rather and disguise it as being in Gods image as I do it.

Scripture tells us Gods draws us to him by His kindness.  Gods unsurpassable worth given to us on the cross needs to be seen clearly for us to understand justice, wrath, or sovereignty.  The old testament points to the cross and the new testament and the gospel message. Never forget that!

I have been given some recent consideration on what it means to be  a  “warrior” of Gods love.  To not fall back in self pity when I see my own sin or the sins of others …. but to continue to love them… maybe waiting patiently for the opportuntity to love them as they deal with their own stuff and sin.

The idea of being a warrior of love means you realize loving others is not easy or something that is just opportunistic for you. It takes relational work!  It means you fight for love and dont fall back when you see the sins or problems of the world. You can do this because we see the ultimate example of this on the cross in Jesus Christ!

How do we become warriors of love!

Leave a Reply

