Just a little bit of stuff

Wow!   I had a great Thanksgiving.  My wife and I decided to have a family meeting to discuss some of the things that have been going on in my life for a long time. I shared some things about me that few people know to my kids.  They are things I am not proud of;  but they demonstrate the how depraved and twisted the Christian mind can be and it shows how much we need a savior.

Hopeful for the future  now…  I am sitting here and considering some things important to my core.  My vision statement will probably tell you more about this … but the things important to me intentionally include:

  • A Gospel centered understanding of my Christian life embracing the essence of Martin Luther  — may sound deep but I have my reasons
  • A goal of intimacy with Jesus/God and his design for me with my wife
  • A look at the idolatry and judgements in my life. Trying to get rid of both religious pride/idols and worldly idols in my life.  One of the reasons I like both Tim Keller and Greg Boyd even though they are both different theologically is they both clearly see worldly idolatry and sin and how the religious idolatry and sin damages the mission of the Church.
  • If you have a focus on idolatry you also have to keep central Gods love. Engaging in the expulsive, replacement, rejoicing of Jesus in the face of my idols.

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.
(1Co 13:1)

Thats it for today

Leave a Reply

