Preaching a different Gospel other than one that is simple, beautiful, and pure

I am going to keep on my thread of a different Gospel again.

2Co 11:2  For I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy; for I betrothed you to one husband, so that to Christ I might present you as a pure virgin.   But I am afraid that, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, your minds will be led astray from the simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ.  For if one comes and preaches another Jesus whom we have not preached, or you receive a different spirit which you have not received, or a different gospel which you have not accepted, you bear this beautifully.

The theme of people preaching a different Gospel runs in all of scripture. In Galatians Paul even charges Peter with this claim.  2 Corinthians describes Jesus (The Gospel)  as a simplistic beautiful purity in devotion to Christ.  There are no add ons to Jesus Christ…. his sacrifice paid the price for all.      It goes on to say further in 2Cor 11:30:

2Co 11:30  If I have to boast, I will boast of what pertains to my weakness.

4 thoughts on “Preaching a different Gospel other than one that is simple, beautiful, and pure

  1. Heather

    Fairly recently, those words from 2 Corinthians 11:2 were where the Lord directed me when I began to panic about whether I actually knew the Gospel message. There are so many firmly convinced opinions on what a true Christian should look like that I was beginning to wonder whether there are ANY true believers around these days.

    I was not only questioning my own salvation but even measuring the hearts of others who don’t agree with everything I thought I believed.

    When I had no where else to turn for answers, I finally fell on my face to beg God to show me what is true. Thankfully, He has been faithful to answer and direct me one step at a time. And I’m learning to discern truth from error according to Who He has revealed Himself to be rather than what someone else has defined as truth.

    Cultivating a relationship is a lot slower and less doctrinally “sure” than blindly subscribing to a predetermined creed or popular explanation of Scripture. But I’m terrified to accept any teaching about which God hasn’t personally given me peace. I’ve had to accept that my belief must be centered on trusting and obeying what I do know of God, not in my being able to logically make perfect sense of Him.

    Singleminded devotion to Christ takes off a lot of pressure to have all the right answers. I may not know everything, but I know the One who does 🙂

  2. M. Patterson

    Pardon me for arguing semantics, but I believe it said that the devotion to Christ is simple and pure. The gospel of Christ is not simple, else there would be no trouble in explaining how a man could be the Son of God, and that he could die an execution to pay for someone else’s sins. That message is deep and difficult. Hence, it takes a simple faith to follow it. Jesus was not simple. He was so much more than we could grasp, that we must follow with a simple faith and devotion.

  3. centralityofthegospel Post author

    To me, as I look at scripture, the Gospel is not hard to understand but its economy of grace people may get but deep down they really don’t believe it. When we add our own personal baggage man make what was finished “in Christ” to now that we are in Christ lets see what we can add to his finished work.

  4. centralityofthegospel Post author

    Heather, your on the right track there I believe! The devotion to Christ and the Gospel yearns for intimacy with Him! I also believe this intimacy with him then also calls us to a deeper emotional and spiritual intimacy with your spouse and people around us.

    Try reading my vision statement and let me know what you think about these words as a summary of a lot of scripture:

    The Gospel of Jesus Christ and Jesus’ purpose on the cross tell us …
    We are more sinful and weak than we ever cared to admit and (why Jesus had to die for me) …
    We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope (why Jesus was glad to die for me).

    We will never hunger for Christs’ beauty until we have seen the filth of our own vain efforts to make ourselves beautiful.

Leave a Reply

