Robbing Paul to Play Peter

Ok, me and my subtleties.  But I believe subtleties are important.

I was reading an online article by  popular Christian author  today.  I won’t mention his name … again.  There are just a couple of authors that are sooo popular that other people/Christians read and love but when I read them I will have maybe a lot of take aways … but in the end I find them lacking in an overall theme and vision of doctrine.  Usually I can’t put my finger on it but more recently I have been able to put my finger on it.   So I was reading this author and his discussion about Christian Freedom (and Christian slavery). Yes, the bible does discuss Christian slavery when it says we are “slaves of righteoussness”.    It uses it other contexts of the word “slave” also as it seeks the Lordship of Christ.

However,   what I see as I read this author was  a Peterism.  If you recall from scripture Peter is a man who we learn from his mistakes more than we learn from his teachings.  Peter had a lot of zeal and enthusiasm… but in the Gospels even though Peter was convinced he would not deny Jesus, HE DID!  Again in Galatians Peter was confronted by Paul with not acting in line with the truth of the Gospel (Gal 2:14).  He was making an additive to the completely finished work of Christ even though he already knew the work of Christ finished it all!

As I read this author as he discussed Christs Lordship you could sense  the Peterisms overflowing as he wanted the Church to be more holy.    Yes, I want the holiness of the Church and I also yearn for that Holiness…. but I don’t believe it will be accomplished with Peterisms.

In a nutshell this author, I believe, was robbing Paul’s message in Galatians to play the part of a Peter.  At the same time, I believe, that a corrected Peter is the foundation of the Church today. We need to spend some time correcting the Peters in our Churches because they will become our future and the foundation of the Church.  I consider myself a corrected Peter.

May the cross and the love of Jesus Christ lead you to more holiness every day.

A related post is here:

https://centralityofthegospel.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/the-two-thieves-of-the-gospel/

One thought on “Robbing Paul to Play Peter

  1. Heather

    Interesting perspective.

    Lack of holiness IS a huge problem within a large cross-section of professing Christians today.

    But if we focus on attaining holiness and primarily pursue that goal, then it becomes nothing more than idolatry—–done in Jesus’ name!

    When we humble ourselves, and wholeheartedly call out to Christ to save us *from* ourselves, He has promised to come and fill us with His Spirit. The overflow of that action on His part is what we see as “holiness”.

    If I am seeing in myself a lack of holy reverence for God and purity of thought/behavior, it is most likely because I’ve either run ahead of or fallen behind (rather than abiding in) my Savior.

Leave a Reply

