Family Update and 2010 in Review

2010 was a really good year.

Kendra, our oldest daughter,  is approaching the end of her college career and will be  graduating in December of 2011 with a double major in El. Education and Special Education with an emphasis in learning disabilities. I still remember how my last semester of college was so I keep telling her to ‘finish strong’. I still remember the distractions of starting a career, getting married, and also trying to finish college.  Kendra, I believe, will excel in the “helping profession’ and in Elementary Education as a teacher.  Her heart is definitely in it.

Katie, graduated from Shakopee high schools and started college at Bemidji State this year. She is an analytical thinker (like her Dad) and started out thinking she would major in Computer Science.  She has decided to change her major to Chemistry which she seems to have a desire for!  She ended her first semester with a 4.0.  It was also a tough decision for Katie to NOT play soccer in college. However, in my opinion it was a good time to hang up her soccer shoes! She ended her high school career being a 2 time all conference player and a captain on her soccer team. She did finish strong in soccer.

Sue and I personally had a really good year. I think one of the best and I believe Sue would agree.  However, Sue’s Father, Howard passed a way on Thanksgiving Day.  So this took us into a spiral of sadness and planning with her Mom, brother, and sister. Howard died at at the age of 77 with complications of Alzheimers. We love you Howie and will see you again on the streets of Gold in heaven!

Sue and I are also now officially empty nesters.  In 3 weeks, we plan to take a 2 person vacation to Hawaii. We are both really looking forward to this vacation. We are going to the island of Kauai, Hi, This island is less touristy and has more natural beauty and Hiking. The inside of the island is mountainous and the outside is beach. The island is also known for the second largest canyon in the United States. The largest is the Grand Canyon!

Sue and I have also taken up west coast swing dance lessons. We need to do something with our time! I really like it and Sue likes it because I like it!  Actually, she was not on board at first but once we started doing it she really likes it now!    As a team of new “swingers” we have taken a basic class, whip class, 6 count variations, and tuck turn variations.  We have learned a lot and now we have to get out and do it. Looking forward to a lot of west coast swing dates with my wife.

Sue also learned how to crochet from her sister Donna.  I keep telling her I am hoping her learning to crochet is not a sign of us getting old!

Sue and I also made a ‘major’ decision to change Churches. We are now attending Hosanna Church in Lakeville, MN.  This was a hard and tough decision for us but as of Jan 1 we consider ourselves members of Hosanna.

2010 overall has been a good year with LOTs of change for the Spadino Family.  Trying to make 2011 better will be hard but I am going to try.

3 thoughts on “Family Update and 2010 in Review

  1. Bekki

    So, glad to hear things are going so well. Everything sounds wonderful and in place. I think my favorite part was that you and Sue were able to go on a vacation alone. 🙂 Keep rockin’ those swing dances and stay blessed! In His Love -Bekki

  2. centralityofthegospel Post author

    Thanks Bekki, Sue and I talk about you once in a while. Hope all things are going well. Our vacation was wonderful too.

    Hope you and your husband are doing well!

Leave a Reply

