Brett Favre: Hero or Zero

Brett Favre (Brett Farve) has been a sports hero of mine.  He has been a guy that is playing a game at the age of 40 and still has fun playing it. As many of y0u know he has recently had lawsuits against him for making illicit sexual comments to massage therapists. Granted this is all conjecture at this point because the lawsuits have just been started and   I realize this country always presumes innocence and I do to… but since I want to use this as a teaching moment lets pretend Brett is guilty.

What do you think of this?

Does this move Brett from hero to zero in your mind?

I don’t think so.  He is still my sports hero.  Here is a guy that in his 40’s has now come face to face with his humanity and his humanity (may have)  won!  His status  of being a sports hero is gone for many.  I am sure he will try with all of his passion and energy to hang on to his sports idol status!

However, Brett Favre also has the greatest opportunity of his life. I hope he does not waste this opportunity!  He now has an opportunity to be a real life hero…. not just a sports hero!

2 Cor 12:9-10 tells us

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in  weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that  Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I call this verse the pain to power principal.  This scripture tells us as we embrace our fallen human nature (our pain, sin, and suffering) we see Christs power that was shown on the cross for us.  This verse allows us to get “real” with who we are (fallen and broken) and to get real with who Jesus is and too see how great Gods glory of the cross was!!

Brett has a fantastic opportunityHe has an opportunity to get honest and transparent in ways with himself, his wife,  and children in ways he has never been before. He can either make the best of this opportunity or he can waste it.   I hope Brett becomes a real life hero (in humble ways) and embraces the pain to power principal!

3 thoughts on “Brett Favre: Hero or Zero

  1. Heather

    Your post offers a refreshing view concerning sin and redemption. Every human failing (ie falling short of God’s glory/sin) offers the opportunity to either wallow in the unhappy consequences or turn to God for forgiveness and the strength to overcome which only can come from Him

    Additionally, I noted an excellent lesson for those of us (me) who tend to confuse admiration of human skill or talent with the type of adoration that ought to be reserved for God alone. It’s always a bad idea to place any human being on a pedestal from which he can eventually fall and injure himself.

  2. Mark

    I have not kept up with the news about Favre enough to be able to comment too much about him, but what you’re saying is true and I agree. It seems likely that there was some stuff going on there, because allegations came from several sources. I think it is really hard for people who are given privileged status to deal with it. Just look at politicians, sports, and entertainment figures. Somebody once said that wealth (or power) don’t change a person, they just reveal who that person really is when they don’t have to worry about what other people think.

Leave a Reply

