The 90/10 Principal

Another re-blogged post since a friend was asking me some questions about my previous post!

I have a 90/10 principal that I try to keep in balance in my life. The rule stated is this: I try to see scripture 90% of the time as internal to me and 10% of it applicable to the world out there. I also like to talk to Christians that seem to have this same rule. In other words I want to internalize scripture as much as I can. My fear is if I invert 90/10 to 10/90 then I will start labelling other Christians, place myself over them, and start developing a sense of superiority …. and I have seen an extreme exaample of this in some of my closest friends causing a notable life-altering story that I will only share with my closest cell group friends. This life-altering experience is probably my main reason for having the 90/10 rule in my life to serve as a guide.

However, having said that I have a form of grace-legalism that I struggle with due to this life-altering thing that happened to me. I tend to have an unloving heart toward people that are acting in unloving ways [or unloving pharisees]. I also distrust people who lead with truth and obedience without first getting real about their own sin as they tend to so easily point out the sin in others and look down on all other people as they develop a sense of superiority in being in the truth.

This is something I sincerely need to work on.

3 thoughts on “The 90/10 Principal

  1. fws

    I read in another of your posts that you try to avoid legalism and antinomianism. I like this post! I can relate! I try to make it 100 about me when it is about identifying sin, and 100 about my neighbor when identifying how I can do the Law by loving others.

    I would like to share what I understand about that word “antinomian” if that does not sound presumptuous…

    Antinomians imagine that they can erase the Law by taking a cosmic erasure to the 3 letters L.A.W. But Luther points out that the Law cannot be erased. Why not? It is divinely revealed in the minds of men in their Reason. If it were just written or revealed in the Bible, we could challenge the propositions of the Law contained there and deny them. And we imagine that we need to do battle then with antinomians by proclaiming the Law in the Bible and defending the truth of it. We instinctively meet antinomianism with law. Or…. sometimes we conflate the term antinomian with libertinism or hedonism. They are not the same thing. Antinomianism ALWAYS leads to legalism (!). It never leads to libertinism or hedonism… please let me relate what Luther says on this to make this clear.

    The Law is Divinely Written in the minds of all men, and so it will not go away. And what does the Law always, always always do? It always accuses. It demands, and then demands more, giving nothing, until it finally demands our very life.

    So back to those Antinomians who erase that word Law from their doctrine. What Luther says is that the Law will always demand its due, and so the Law will and must remain in the doctrine of antinomians but under a different name. What would that name for the Law be since the Law for antinomians no longer exists? The Law for an antinomian is called the Gospel! We become obedient to the Gospel. And Christ becomes the Example for how to do this. So then Christ becomes a NT , New Covenant Moses. He has come to show us how to love.

    Probably the best example of modern antinomians are the plymouth brethren founded by Charles Darby. But there are many others who are not so extreme. Many Lutherans are among them unfortunately.

    So the danger of Antinomianism is not that it will lead to becoming libertine or hedonist. It is that antinomianism will always lead to a form of legalism that parades about as the Gospel and Christ.

  2. centralityofthegospel Post author

    I agree with your definitions. The odd thing that history shows is that mans attempt to keep the law actually generates more sin in us. It becomes the sin of the pharisees to some degree or another.

    This is why Galatians discusses Christ freeing us from the bondage of the law! The gospel allows us to live in freedom and as sinners be able to “boldly take risks” without fear of mans opinion about religious “performance”.

    Also, I belong to a Lutheran Church… although it voted to leave the ELCA.

  3. fws

    It seems like most all churches left the ELCA over the homosexual question. So how do you see Lutheran theology dealing with that issue relative to the gospel, along with women’s ordination? Curious.

Leave a Reply

