Who do you love?

Seldom do you hear my BLOG discuss obedience.  This is intentional on my part. Also a good video below of the song Who do you love?

On the other hand obedience is one of the things I personally think about the most. How do I become obedient, etc.

Let me explain why I don’t mention it.

In my personal struggles and in my understanding of scripture I have realized that obedience is not the goal of the Christian walk. But rather, it something secondary or the output of a Christian “love”  relationship with Jesus Christ.   As a matter of face I honestly believe that without the Gospel message of Christ even a persons morality if life will have a self serving motive to it.  In my experiences a focus on the output of being a man of integrity (ie morality) or doing more spiritual push ups, and memorizing more  scripture seldom works despite the best efforts of men in their accountability groups and pastors to press this on their flock.  Quite often spiritually trying harder only tightens the noose of sin stronger around mans neck!

The other reason I don’t discuss obedience often  is I have known a few truth and obedience mongers in the religious world that are self righteouss.   Once your aware of religious self-rightoussness you will find out how common this pharasaical attitude is and how it actually exists in all Christians as a form of religious pride.   Often this “religious idolatry” goes unnoticed in the eyes of beleiving Christians.

How stubborn and prideful we are!

Lets read a few verses from the Gospel of John:

Joh 14:15  “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.
Joh 14:16  “I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever;
Joh 14:17  that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.
Joh 14:18  “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.
Joh 14:19  “After a little while the world will no longer see Me, but you will see Me; because I live, you will live also.
Joh 14:20  “In that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you.

John 14:15 says if you love me , you will keep my commands.  This verse does not hinge on obedience.  However, I have realized many people do hinge this scripture in their lives on that word in with what I believe is an incorrect focus.

The scripture hinges on the word love.  Obedience will always hinge on what or who you love the most.  Being disobedient will always be an idolatry problem. An idol to me is defined by something you love more than Jesus Christ.

The first commandment (to have no other idols before God) was the first commandment for a very important reason.  If we kept the first commandment we would really have no need for the next nine commandments.

In recent years I have recaptured a secular song for Christian reasons.  The song is “Who do love” by george Thoroughgood.  In my quiet time in the morning there are occasions when I put down the bible (gasp!) and just spend some time being alone with Jesus Christ.  When I do this I ask myself some important questions>

  • What/Who do you love the most?
  • What were my idols yesterday?

In the very last Chapter of John Jesus asked Peter 3 times “Do you love me?”.  This is the question around which the Christian walk needs to revolve.  Obedience will naturally follow a life the looks to love Jesus more and more every day.

Even though most of the words of the video do not apply the words “Who do you love” do apply to our daily lives in Christ as in the case of the book of John.

Leave a Reply

