Which Narrative do you live by – Phillipians 3:8-12

Philippians 3:8-12

English Standard Version (ESV)

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

Straining Toward the Goal

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.

This is one of my favorite verses. Perhaps one of my three potential new testament life verses.  Very knowledgeable people in theiir faith seem to lack wisdom and often it appears to me to be centered around this verse.  As I read this verse I reflect back on my life a lot and I always ask the question.    What righteoussness narrative do I live by?   What righteoussness narrative do you live by?  Do I find my righteousness from my ability to keep Gods word and have a moral performance narrative from living under Gods Law… something I also call living with religion in our heart… or do I find a righteousness comes by faith in Christ alone…. and live with the Gospel of Jesus Christ as your core and have a grace and mercy narrative?  The difference in how we answer that question is  drastic in how we behave in this world toward both God and other people. Gods mercies are fresh everyday!

The Gospel

The Gospel of Jesus Christ and Jesus’ purpose on the cross tell us …
We are more sinful and weak than we ever cared to admit and (why Jesus had to die for me) …
We are more loved and accepted than we ever dared to hope (why Jesus was glad to die for me).

We will never hunger for Christs’ beauty until we have seen the filth of our own vain efforts to make ourselves beautiful.

My .02c worth for the day.

Also to let you know my blogging increased over the Holidays. I completely expect it to fall off to once every 3 or 4 months for the remainder of year much like like it tapered off last year as I get involved in work and as winter comes to an end and as Sue and i seek to get out on the new motorcycle!

One thought on “Which Narrative do you live by – Phillipians 3:8-12

  1. theoldadam

    Nice work, Jon!

    Having Christ as the core (instead of ourselves) is the basis for our freedom, and it allows us to live outward, without having to worry how we are perceived by our Farther in Heaven.

    Thank you, friend!

Leave a Reply

